Awake

Thank you Google images for this lovely old-fashioned alarm clock. I want one of these. But I don’t want to hear it in the morning.

As a 20-year-old college student developing self-awareness, there’s a lot I’m still learning about myself.

But I’m 100 percent of a couple things:

1. painting my nails is a waste of time. I’ll chip off the nail polish within 48 hours. Or minutes. Sad but true!

2. I love hummus. Illustration: it takes me exactly four days to eat a 10 ounce container of hummus all by myself. (I think I could do it quicker),

and last but not least,

3. I hate getting out of bed in the morning.

This has been true my whole life. As a toddler, I probably pressed the snooze button.

Lately I (and several others in my house) have been STRUGGLING to get up in the morning. Maybe this is because we stay up until 1:00 or later most nights. Or for me specifically, maybe it’s because I have the comfiest bed known to man with my favorite puffy comforter, four pillows, and a t-shirt quilt my mom sewed for me.

Or maybe it’s because two girls who model the “carpe diem” wakeup I so wish I could master live downstairs, and the lazy bums all live upstairs.

Last year, living in the college dorms, I shared a room with Miss Carpe Diem herself. Miss Carpe Diem left her alarm clock on her desk. Miss Carpe Diem slept in a loft bed.

When Miss Carpe Diem heard her alarm go off before dawn, in two seconds flat she had descended the intricate route from bed to floor to shut off the infernal beeping and was pacing the room planning her day.

In the first ten minutes of her morning, Miss Carpe Diem had showered, dressed, checked the news, finished her physics homework, answered 12 emails, and discovered a cure for cancer.

This is what I do. I hear my alarm. I shut it off. I lay there for 20 minutes. I cry. I stretch. I pretend I’m a different person, with nowhere to go and nothing to do. I wonder what the President does when his alarm goes off. I worry that I won’t vote for the right person in the next Presidential election. I worry that there won’t be any yogurt in the fridge for breakfast. I think about my homework load and get crabby. I look at the clock. I burrow under the covers. I pick off all my nails and wish I had a nail file. I try to go back to sleep.

My current roommate just presses the snooze button and goes back to sleep. Both of us have issues with morning.

So does another one of my housemates. I found her curled up in a green blanket in the middle of the living room floor this morning, asleep. Later I found out she had slept through an important appointment and the start of her 12:00 class. Oops.

We’re a house of non-morning people, except for Miss Carpe Diem, who lives in the basement, and her friend Miss Go Get ‘Em, who also lives in the basement. If only they’d rub off on us!

All this getting-out-of-bed-struggle relates to what I read in my devotional book this morning. The topic was living life for what matters most. The book mentioned keeping in mind an eternal perspective, that one day Christ will return, and that we don’t know when that day is. Knowing this should motivate us to live life to the fullest!

In a sense, it was all about waking up.

“This is all the more urgent, for you know how late it is; time is running out. Wake up, for our salvation is nearer now than when we first believed. The night is almost gone; the day of salvation will soon be here.” (Romans 13:11-12)

*** This blog post is dedicated with love to Miss Sleep-On-The-Carpet (You know who you are.)

One thought on “Awake

  1. Oh! Poor Miss Sleep-on-the-carpet!! As former roommate of this lovely lady, I suggest that you all find a motivational song to wake to. 🙂 “Oh, What a Beautiful Morning” is a classic. If it makes you feel any better, I will greet the world at 5:15 every Tuesday, Thursday, Friday this semester. Let me know if you ever need a cheerful wake-up call. Great post, Brooke!

Leave a Reply

